Find the latest FHLBank Topeka news communication.
AHAC Nominations Due Friday, Nov. 30 November 1, 2018

FHLBank Topeka’s Affordable Housing Program sets aside funds each year for member institutions to use in financing affordable housing for low- and moderate-income households in their communities in partnership with public and private local housing development organizations. When the program began in 1989, an Affordable Housing Advisory Council (AHAC) was created to meet with representatives of FHLBank Topeka’s board of directors and advise FHLBank on low- and moderate-income housing needs and programs in FHLBank’s district (Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska and Oklahoma).

FHLBank Topeka’s AHAC is comprised of 12 individuals. AHAC members must reside in FHLBank Topeka’s district and must be from community and nonprofit organizations that are actively involved in providing or promoting low- and moderate-income housing or community lending in FHLBank Topeka’s district. Employees of FHLBank Topeka’s members are not eligible to serve on the AHAC. Consistent with the Federal Housing Finance Agency’s (FHFA) regulation on Minority and Women Inclusion, and FHLBank Topeka’s long-term strategic objective to advance diversity and inclusion in all business activities, FHLBank Topeka strongly encourages the consideration of diversity in nominating individuals for positions on its AHAC.

It is expected that three people from each state in the district will serve on FHLBank Topeka’s AHAC, generally for three-year terms. Members are appointed to terms on a staggered basis. Current members are eligible for reappointment, but may not serve more than three consecutive three-year terms.

There are four open seats for which we are now accepting nominations, one each in Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska and Oklahoma.The individuals selected will serve a term beginning Jan. 1, 2019, and ending Dec. 31, 2021. The four AHAC members whose terms expire this year are:


  • Chad Asarch |  Community Housing Concepts, Inc, Denver, Colo.
    Eligible for reappointment
  • Matthew A. Brady | Housing Authority of the City of Dodge City, Dodge City, Kan.
    Eligible for reappointment
  • Brent Williams |  Excel Development Group, Lincoln, Neb.
    Eligible for reappointment
  • Vicki d. jordan  |  Vintage Housing, Tulsa, Okla.
    Eligible for reappointment

The other eight members of the AHAC are:


  • Claudia Brierre |  INCOG, Tulsa, Okla.
  • John Wiechmann  |  Midwest Housing Equity Group, Omaha, Neb.
  • Sophronia George |  Topeka Housing Authority, Topeka, Kan.
  • Lynn Fleming | Housing Authority of The City of Great Bend, Great Bend, Kan.
  • Valerie Powell  |  Housing Authority of Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma, Hugo, Okla.
  • Michael Renken  |  NeighborWorks, Lincoln, Neb.
  • Lisa Bloomquist | HomesFund, Durango, Colo.
  • Nate Clyncke |Rocky Mountain Community Land Trust, Colorado Springs, Colo.

AHAC members are reimbursed for all travel and associated expenses incurred for attending AHAC meetings and receive a $250 stipend for each meeting attended. Nominees must be willing to travel to any of the four states in FHLBank Topeka’s district at least once each quarter during the year to attend meetings of the AHAC. Nominators should verify that nominees are willing and able to travel to these one-day meetings generally held during the second or third week of March, June, September and December.

Please complete the nomination form and submit it for individuals you believe meet the qualifications to represent your state on FHLBank Topeka’s AHAC. A copy of the individual’s resume must be attached to your submission. Please feel free to nominate more than one qualified individual. Nominations must be returned to FHLBank Topeka via email to, fax 785.234.1765 or mail to Federal Home Loan Bank Topeka, 500 SW Wanamaker Rd, Topeka, KS 66606, Attn: Tom Thull by Friday, November 30, 2018. It is expected that FHLBank Topeka’s board of directors will consider these nominations at its December 2018 meeting.

Thank you for your assistance in nominating qualified individuals to FHLBank Topeka’s AHAC. Please contact Tom Thull, director of Housing and Community Development, at 785.438.6029, if you have questions.


Media Contacts

Julie DeVader 785.478.8155

FVP, Director of Marketing and Communications

Dan Hess 785.478.8135
SVP, Chief Business Officer

S&P Rating
Click here for a list of current ratings.

Corporate Governance
Visit our Corporate Governance page for information about FHLBank Topeka's policies.





One Security Benefit Place
Suite 100 | Topeka, KS 66606





© 2019 FHLBank Topeka | Please see legal disclaimer. | Sitemap